The Institute of Internal Auditors, Inc. (IIA) and IIA The Netherlands have released details of the Professional Experience Recognition process for the newly developed Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA). Candidates for the CRMA may submit proof of experience, related certifications, and education in order to receive the professional designation now in lieu of taking the certification exam that will begin being offered in June 2013.

The CRMA allows audit practitioners to demonstrate their ability to provide advice and assurance to audit committees and executive management on whether key risk management and governance processes in their organizations are in place and effective. “We recognize there are many internal auditors and risk management professionals who already have the requisite knowledge and experience worthy of the CRMA recognition,” said IIA Vice President of Certifications Cyndi Plamondon, CIA, CCSA, CFSA, CGAP. “This opportunity allows them to lead the way in exhibiting their valuable expertise.”

The Professional Experience Recognition process provides candidates an opportunity to accumulate points based on their:
  • Education
  • Active audit related certifications
  • Professional experience within the five domains of the CRMA
    • Assessing / assurance of risk management activities
    • Risk management fundamentals
    • Elements of risk
    • Control theory and applications
    • Business objectives and organizational performance
Candidates that accumulate a minimum of 155 points on their application will be granted the CRMA designation without having to sit for the CRMA exam.

The fee for participating in the Professional Experience Recognition process through IIA The Netherlands ranges from € 260 to € 615, depending on factors such as IIA membership and current active certifications. A €110 (members) or € 220 (non-members) non-refundable fee is required when submitting the application, which is applied toward the total cost of the certification if the application is approved. Candidates serviced by IIA The Netherlands can obtain application materials and apply for the CRMA by this link . Once the application is reviewed by IIA The Netherlands, it will be forwarded to the IIA Global headquarters and a decision on whether the CRMA is granted based on professional experience will be made within 30 days. 

The PER period in the Netherlands will close on 31 December 2012. PER candidates must have applied and paid the application fee by this deadline. All qualifying documentation must be submitted by no later than 31 January 2013.

To learn more about the CRMA and how to participate in the Professional Experience Recognition process, please visit our website via this link.
Terug naar het nieuwsoverzicht

IIA Nederland

Burgemeester Stramanweg 102A
1101 AA Amsterdam
Contact opnemen

Audit Magazine

Audit Magazine


IIA is dé toonaangevende beroepsorganisatie voor internal auditors. Een lidmaatschap laat u delen in de collectieve kennis van alle vakgenoten in de wereld.
Meer informatie