International certifications

By earning a professional internal audit certification you show the outside world that you possess knowledge and skills, plus a strong involvement in the practice of internal audit. You also earn the credibility and respect of your peers. The Dutch RO title is to be gained via IIA Netherlands, while IIA Global offers the CIA, CGAP, CFSA, CCSA, CRMA, QIAL, CPEA and CPSA Certifications & Qualifications.

For the international titles, you must directly submit your application in the CCMS (Certification Candidate Management System) of IIA Global. The manual will guide you through the process step by step. Candidates who already participate in a program can complete this independently via the CCMS.


With the Pearson VUE testing tutorial and practice exam you can practice with the computer system on the Pearson VUE website. This way you learn how the exams for the certifications are taken.

Exam location

The exam is taken digitally at a location of Pearson VUE. After registration you will receive a registration number with which you can reserve a date and time at Pearson VUE for half a year (180 days) to take the exam. This is possible at every Pearson VUE location worldwide, so if desired also abroad. In the Netherlands, the organization has exam locations in Amsterdam and Utrecht. There is one exam location in Belgium. It is advisable to reserve at least two months prior to your desired date.

When taking the exam, you must bring a valid identification document and your authorization letter with the unique code. You will not be admitted without these documents and your rights will expire. You can bring a dictionary; a calculator is made available digitally. Also make sure you are (well) on time - the time reserved by you cannot be postponed and if you arrive late, your rights will expire. Immediately after taking an exam, you will receive a provisional result - this status cannot yet be granted. This will be confirmed definitively within approximately five weeks.


This is the CIA Certification page on the IIA Global website.

CIA® stands for Certified Internal Auditor®. By successfully completing the CIA exam, auditors can get certified by IIA Inc.. The most important subjects that are part of the exam are the internal audit process, management control and information technology and the audit environment. The Code of Ethics applies to all Certified Internal Auditors and they are required to follow continuing education.

In 1974 the CIA exam was taken for the first time. It is designed to promote the recognition of the internal audit profession and to support auditors who want to further develop themselves professionally. The same exam is taken worldwide, which is centrally prepared by The Professional Certifications Board of The IIA. You can do these CIA Practice tests.

IIA Nederland

Burgemeester Stramanweg 102A
1101 AA Amsterdam
Postbus 22657
1100 DD Amsterdam
Contact opnemen

Audit Magazine

Audit Magazine


IIA is dé toonaangevende beroepsorganisatie voor internal auditors. Een lidmaatschap laat u delen in de collectieve kennis van alle vakgenoten in de wereld.
Meer informatie